## Appendix B: Notes on Foreign State of Chargeability

## **AFRICA:**

**South Sudan** – The United States recognized South Sudan as a sovereign, independent state on July 9, 2011 following its secession from Sudan.

**Swaziland** – On April 19, 2018, King Mswati III of Swaziland announced a change of the English language form of his country's name from Swaziland to Eswatini. A Swaziland Government gazette published on May 11, 2018 legally codified the name change, and a diplomatic note from the Swaziland Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation sent on May 18, 2018 informed diplomatic missions of the new name. The U.S. Board on Geographic Names approved the following changes on May 25, 2018:

Swaziland to **Eswatini** (short-form)

Kingdom of Swaziland to **Kingdom of Eswatini** (long-form)

Western Sahara – Disputed Territory. See United Nations Mission for the Referendum on Western Sahara and Security Council Resolution 1720 of October 31, 2006. Morocco virtually annexed the northern two-thirds of Western Sahara (formerly Spanish Sahara) in 1976, and the rest of the territory in 1979, following Mauritania's withdrawal. A guerilla war with the Polisario Front contesting Rabat's sovereignty ended in a 1991 UN-brokered cease-fire; a UN-organized referendum on final status has been repeatedly postponed.

## **EUROPE:**

**Curaçao** – The Netherlands Antilles dissolved on October 10, 2010. Curaçao and Sint Maarten (the Dutch two-fifths of the island of Saint Martin) became autonomous territories of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius now fall under the direct administration of the Netherlands.

**Macau** – Effective December 20, 1999 Macau was returned to Chinese administration and was designated as the Special Administrative Region of Macau. Title II (United States-Macau Policy Act of 2000) of Pub. L. 106-570 (Assistance for International Malaria Control Act) enacted on December 27, 2000 provides that, notwithstanding any change in exercise of sovereignty over Macau, the laws of the United States shall continue to apply with respect to Macau in the same manner as before December 20, 1999.

Netherlands Antilles – see Curação

Sint Maartin – see Curaçao