Appendix A: Notes on Nationality

AFRICA:

South Sudan – The United States recognized South Sudan as a sovereign, independent state on July 9, 2011 following its secession from Sudan.

Swaziland – On April 19, 2018, King Mswati III of Swaziland announced a change of the English language form of his country's name from Swaziland to Eswatini. A Swaziland Government gazette published on May 11, 2018 legally codified the name change, and a diplomatic note from the Swaziland Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation sent on May 18, 2018 informed diplomatic missions of the new name. The U.S. Board on Geographic Names approved the following changes on May 25, 2018:

Swaziland to **Eswatini** (short-form)

Kingdom of Swaziland to **Kingdom of Eswatini** (long-form)

EUROPE:

Kosovo – See Yugoslavia note.

Montenegro – See Yugoslavia note.

Serbia and Montenegro – See Yugoslavia note.

Serbia – See Yugoslavia note.

Yugoslavia— On February 4, 2003 the Parliament of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia voted to adopt a new constitution establishing the state union of Serbia and Montenegro. The United States and Montenegro established diplomatic relations on August 15, 2006 after Montenegro's successful May 21, 2006 independence referendum. The United States formally recognized Kosovo as a sovereign and independent state and established diplomatic relations with Kosovo on February 18, 2008 after Kosovo's declaration of independence on February 17, 2008. The continued use of the term Serbia and Montenegro reflects visas issued in Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro) passports.